The Resource Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar

Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar

Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel
Title
Vanessa and her sister
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Priya Parmar
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group. London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of bright, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of this charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer. Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times. Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E.M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of artists and intellectuals throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London. But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must decide if it is finally time to protect her own happiness above all else. The work of exciting young newcomer Priya Parmar, Vanessa and Her Sister exquisitely captures the champagne-heady days of prewar London and the extraordinary lives of sisters Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Advance praise for Vanessa and Her Sister. "Priya Parmar is on a high-wire act all her own in this radiantly original novel about the Bloomsbury Set. Irrepressible, with charm and brio to spare, Vanessa and Her Sister boldly invites us to that moment in history when famous minds sparked and collided, shaping the terrain of art and letters. But it's the two sisters who are most bewitching here--rocking on the brink of unforgivable transgression, changing each other in ways far-reaching and profound. Prepare to be dazzled."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife "With sparkling wit and insight, Priya Parmar sets us down into the legendary Bloomsbury household of the Stephen siblings, where sisters Vanessa and Virginia vie for love and primacy amid a collection of eccentric guests. Vanessa and Her Sister kidnapped me for a couple of days. I couldn't put it down."--Nancy Horan, author of Loving Frank "This is the novel I didn't know I was waiting for, and it is, quite simply, astonishing. Not just because of Priya Parmar's preternatural skill at evoking the moment when the lid was coming off the Victorians and the heated talk about art, life, and sex swirled through Bloomsbury, but because of how she has caught the two sisters at the center of that swirl--the women who would become Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Vanessa and Her Sister is beautiful and wise, and as deft as a stroke upon the canvas."--Sarah Blake, author of The Postmistress"--
  • "In 1905, Virginia and Vanessa Stephens and their brothers Thoby and Adrian moved to unfashionable, bohemian Bloomsbury. All in their twenties, orphaned and unmarried, they began holding Thursday night gatherings in their unchaperoned, unconventional drawing room. Most of the young guests in that room would become famous, breaking the old rules and blazing their own new paths. It is from Vanessa's point of view at the center of this eccentric, charmed circle of artists and intellectuals that this novel is told, with unsparing honesty about their friendships, their love affairs, and in particular her own troubled relationship with her complicated, brilliant sister Virginia"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Parmar, Priya
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3616.A757
LC item number
V36 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Bell, Vanessa
  • Woolf, Virginia
  • Sisters
  • Women artists
  • Women authors, English
  • Bloomsbury group
  • London (England)
Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn889688482
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xii, 348 pages
Isbn
9780804176378
Lccn
2014030434
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)889688482
Label
Vanessa and her sister : a novel, Priya Parmar
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn889688482
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xii, 348 pages
Isbn
9780804176378
Lccn
2014030434
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)889688482

Library Locations

  • Albina LibraryBorrow it
    3605 NE 15th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.549039 -122.650525
  • Belmont LibraryBorrow it
    1038 SE César E. Chávez Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97214, US
    45.515217 -122.622669
  • Capitol Hill LibraryBorrow it
    10723 SW Capitol Highway, Portland, OR, 97219, US
    45.448003 -122.725422
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    801 SW 10th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97205, US
    45.519098 -122.682899
  • Fairview-Columbia LibraryBorrow it
    1520 NE Village Street, Fairview, OR, 97024, US
    45.532283 -122.439336
  • Gregory Heights LibraryBorrow it
    7921 NE Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97213, US
    45.551662 -122.581264
  • Gresham LibraryBorrow it
    385 NW Miller Avenue, Gresham, OR, 97030, US
    45.500070 -122.433041
  • Hillsdale LibraryBorrow it
    1525 SW Sunset Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97239, US
    45.479852 -122.694013
  • Holgate LibraryBorrow it
    7905 SE Holgate Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.490548 -122.582218
  • Hollywood LibraryBorrow it
    4040 NE Tillamook Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.537544 -122.621237
  • Isom BuildingBorrow it
    205 NE Russell Street , Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541222 -122.663268
  • Kenton LibraryBorrow it
    8226 N Denver Avenue, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.582857 -122.686379
  • Midland LibraryBorrow it
    805 SE 122nd Avenue, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.516683 -122.538488
  • North Portland LibraryBorrow it
    512 N Killingsworth Street, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.562454 -122.671507
  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2300 NW Thurman Street, Portland, OR, 97210, US
    45.535316 -122.699254
  • Rockwood LibraryBorrow it
    17917 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.519541 -122.479013
  • Sellwood-Moreland LibraryBorrow it
    7860 SE 13th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97202, US
    45.467703 -122.652639
  • St. Johns LibraryBorrow it
    7510 N Charleston Avenue, Portland, OR, 97203, US
    45.590046 -122.751043
  • The Title Wave Used BookstoreBorrow it
    216 NE Knott Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541647 -122.663075
  • Troutdale LibraryBorrow it
    2451 SW Cherry Park Road, Troutdale, OR, 97060, US
    45.529595 -122.409662
  • Woodstock LibraryBorrow it
    6008 SE 49th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.478961 -122.612079
Processing Feedback ...