The Resource Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author

Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author

Label
Often I am happy : a novel
Title
Often I am happy
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • dan
  • eng
Summary
"This elegant and nuanced literary gem explores the intricacies of friendship, secrets, and two marriages, for fans of The Dinner and Dept. of Speculation. "Often I am happy and yet I want to cry; / For no heart fully shares my joy."--B.S. Ingemann Ellinor is seventy. Her husband Georg has just passed away, and she is struck with the need to confide in someone. She addresses Anna, her long-dead best friend, who was also Georg's first wife. Fully aware of the absurdity of speaking to someone who cannot hear her, Ellinor nevertheless finds it meaningful to divulge long-held secrets and burdens of her past: her mother's heartbreaking pride; Ellinor's courtship with her first husband; their seemingly charmed friendship with Anna and Georg; the disastrous ski trip that shattered the two couples' lives. Wry and mellow yet infused with subdued emotion, this philosophical, lyrical novel moves in parallel narrative threads while questioning the assumptions we cherish concerning identity and love"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1959-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Grøndahl, Jens Christian
Dewey number
839.8/1374
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Danish
LC call number
PT8175.G753
LC item number
T5813 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Grøndahl, Jens Christian
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn956687869
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781478968146
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)956687869
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Grøndahl ; translated by the author
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn956687869
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781478968146
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)956687869

Library Locations

  • Albina LibraryBorrow it
    3605 NE 15th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.549039 -122.650525
  • Belmont LibraryBorrow it
    1038 SE César E. Chávez Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97214, US
    45.515217 -122.622669
  • Capitol Hill LibraryBorrow it
    10723 SW Capitol Highway, Portland, OR, 97219, US
    45.448003 -122.725422
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    801 SW 10th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97205, US
    45.519098 -122.682899
  • Fairview-Columbia LibraryBorrow it
    1520 NE Village Street, Fairview, OR, 97024, US
    45.532283 -122.439336
  • Gregory Heights LibraryBorrow it
    7921 NE Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97213, US
    45.551662 -122.581264
  • Gresham LibraryBorrow it
    385 NW Miller Avenue, Gresham, OR, 97030, US
    45.500070 -122.433041
  • Hillsdale LibraryBorrow it
    1525 SW Sunset Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97239, US
    45.479852 -122.694013
  • Holgate LibraryBorrow it
    7905 SE Holgate Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.490548 -122.582218
  • Hollywood LibraryBorrow it
    4040 NE Tillamook Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.537544 -122.621237
  • Isom BuildingBorrow it
    205 NE Russell Street , Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541222 -122.663268
  • Kenton LibraryBorrow it
    8226 N Denver Avenue, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.582857 -122.686379
  • Midland LibraryBorrow it
    805 SE 122nd Avenue, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.516683 -122.538488
  • North Portland LibraryBorrow it
    512 N Killingsworth Street, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.562454 -122.671507
  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2300 NW Thurman Street, Portland, OR, 97210, US
    45.535316 -122.699254
  • Rockwood LibraryBorrow it
    17917 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.519541 -122.479013
  • Sellwood-Moreland LibraryBorrow it
    7860 SE 13th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97202, US
    45.467703 -122.652639
  • St. Johns LibraryBorrow it
    7510 N Charleston Avenue, Portland, OR, 97203, US
    45.590046 -122.751043
  • The Title Wave Used BookstoreBorrow it
    216 NE Knott Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541647 -122.663075
  • Troutdale LibraryBorrow it
    2451 SW Cherry Park Road, Troutdale, OR, 97060, US
    45.529595 -122.409662
  • Woodstock LibraryBorrow it
    6008 SE 49th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.478961 -122.612079
Processing Feedback ...