The Resource All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller

All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller

Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother
Title
All the ever afters
Title remainder
the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother
Statement of responsibility
Danielle Teller
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella's "evil" stepmother. We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress's apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone's unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after.""--
  • We all know the story of Cinderella ... or do we? Her stepmother, Agnes, has privately recorded the true story. A peasant born into serfdom, forced into servitude as a laundress's apprentice when she is only ten years old, Agnes was seduced by an older man while a teenager and became pregnant. She had no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind, where her new position is nursemaid to Ella. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. -- adapted from jacket
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Teller, Danielle
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3620.E447
LC item number
A79 2018
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Cinderella (Tale)
  • Stepmothers
  • Serfdom
Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn1001767692
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780062798077
Lccn
2017043121
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1001767692
Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn1001767692
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780062798077
Lccn
2017043121
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1001767692

Library Locations

  • Albina LibraryBorrow it
    3605 NE 15th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.549039 -122.650525
  • Belmont LibraryBorrow it
    1038 SE César E. Chávez Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97214, US
    45.515217 -122.622669
  • Capitol Hill LibraryBorrow it
    10723 SW Capitol Highway, Portland, OR, 97219, US
    45.448003 -122.725422
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    801 SW 10th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97205, US
    45.519098 -122.682899
  • Fairview-Columbia LibraryBorrow it
    1520 NE Village Street, Fairview, OR, 97024, US
    45.532283 -122.439336
  • Gregory Heights LibraryBorrow it
    7921 NE Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97213, US
    45.551662 -122.581264
  • Gresham LibraryBorrow it
    385 NW Miller Avenue, Gresham, OR, 97030, US
    45.500070 -122.433041
  • Hillsdale LibraryBorrow it
    1525 SW Sunset Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97239, US
    45.479852 -122.694013
  • Holgate LibraryBorrow it
    7905 SE Holgate Boulevard, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.490548 -122.582218
  • Hollywood LibraryBorrow it
    4040 NE Tillamook Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.537544 -122.621237
  • Isom BuildingBorrow it
    205 NE Russell Street , Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541222 -122.663268
  • Kenton LibraryBorrow it
    8226 N Denver Avenue, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.582857 -122.686379
  • Midland LibraryBorrow it
    805 SE 122nd Avenue, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.516683 -122.538488
  • North Portland LibraryBorrow it
    512 N Killingsworth Street, Portland, OR, 97217, US
    45.562454 -122.671507
  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2300 NW Thurman Street, Portland, OR, 97210, US
    45.535316 -122.699254
  • Rockwood LibraryBorrow it
    17917 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR, 97233, US
    45.519541 -122.479013
  • Sellwood-Moreland LibraryBorrow it
    7860 SE 13th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97202, US
    45.467703 -122.652639
  • St. Johns LibraryBorrow it
    7510 N Charleston Avenue, Portland, OR, 97203, US
    45.590046 -122.751043
  • The Title Wave Used BookstoreBorrow it
    216 NE Knott Street, Portland, OR, 97212, US
    45.541647 -122.663075
  • Troutdale LibraryBorrow it
    2451 SW Cherry Park Road, Troutdale, OR, 97060, US
    45.529595 -122.409662
  • Woodstock LibraryBorrow it
    6008 SE 49th Avenue, Portland, OR, 97206, US
    45.478961 -122.612079
Processing Feedback ...